First Fitzgibbon Cup Medal For Giolla

Well done to Colin Guilfoyle who is now the proud holder of a Fitzgibbon Cup medal.

He was a member of the Mary Immaculate College panel that claimed their second ever title on Saturday with a comprehensive 3-24 1-18 win over IT Carlow.

Managed by Jamie Wall, the Limerick college were captained by Whitegate’s Eoin Quirke with Kilmaley’s Mikey O’Neill at centre forward and Colm Galvin very influential from midfield. His Clonlara clubmate Mícheál O’Loughlin along with Colin and Broadford’s Paul O’Connell completed the Banner involvement.

It is a great honour for anyone to win a Fitzgibbon Cup and to see a Blue progressing with a team like Colin has done is very positive and we are hopeful to see many more young members of our club doing the same.

Scorers for Mary I: A Gillane 1-5 (1-0 pen, 4fs), D O’Donovan 1-3 (0-2 sl), R Maher 0-4 (3fs), P Ryan 1-0, M O’Neill 0-3, C Lynch 0-3, C Twomey 0-3, C Galvin 0-1, L Meade 0-1, S Cahill 0-1.

Scorers for IT Carlow: S Maher 1-13 (12fs), C Dunford 0-2, C Dwyer 0-2, M Kavanagh 0-1, C Bolger 0-1.

Mary Immaculate College: Ciaran Barrett; David Sweeney, Richie English, Eoin Quirke; Conor Twomey, Ronan Maher, Alan Flynn; Colm Galvin, Stephen Cahill; Darragh O’Donovan, Michael O’Neill, Aaron Gillane; Tadhg Gallagher, Cian Lynch, Luke Meade.

Substitutes: Thomas Monaghan for Gallagher (half-time), Pa Ryan for O’Neill (55), Sean Burke for Gillane (63).

IT Carlow: Enda Rowland; Dwayne Palmer, Kevin Hannafin, Ross Browne; Robert Moran, Damian Healy, Dale O’Hanlon; James Doyle, Colin Dunford; Martin Kavanagh, Charles Dwyer, Stephen Maher; Chris Bolger, Mark Russell, Jack Fagan.

Substitute: Tommy Nolan for Russell (50).

Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly).

Leave a Reply