Famous Win For Clare Footballers

Clare 2-11
Cork 0-9

Peter O’Connell reports from Cusack Park, Ennis

THE CLARE FOOTBALLERS scored a famous win over Cork in Ennis this afternoon, beating their opponents in the league for the first time since 1994.

Clare played exceptionally well in the second half to record their second win of the season and benefited from one of the key moments in the game when Donal Óg Hodnett’s goal for Cork was disallowed, 21 minutes into the second period.

Although Cork dominated possession in the opening 20 minutes the teams were tied at half-time. Points from Aidan Walsh, a Luke Connolly ’45 and centre back James Loughrey, left Cork leading 0-3 to 0-0 after 21 minutes.

Then Clare wing forward Cian O’Dea goaled from close range 10 minutes before half time to leave the teams tied at 1-0 to 0-3, while they were deadlocked 1-2 to 0-5 come the interval.

Clare started the second half with points from Shane Brennan, David Tubridy and a superb Cathal O’Connor effort, leaving them 1-5 to 0-5 ahead.

While Niall Coakley and Colm O’Neill replied for Cork, Jamie Malone, Tubridy and Ciaran Russell did likewise for the Banner.

Then came Clare’s second goal from Jamie Malone, four minutes from time, to seal an exceptional result for the team managed by Colm Collins.

Cork meanwhile were left reflecting on a very poor second half display which included a Colm O’Neill penalty hitting the post in injury time.

This win comes after Clare were well beaten by Galway last weekend, while Cork’s promotion hopes have now been dented, following their second defeat of the season.

Scorers for Clare: Jamie Malone 1-1, David Tubridy 0-4 (0-2f), Cian O’Dea 1-0, Eoin Cleary 0-3 (0-1f, 0-1 ’45), Shane Brennan, Cathal O’Connor, Ciaran Russell 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Niall Coakley (0-2f), Tomás Clancy, James Loughrey, Aidan Walsh, Michael Shields, Paul Kerrigan, Luke Connolly (0-1 ’45), Colm O’Neill.


1. Joe Hayes (Lissycasey)
2. Dean Ryan (Éire Óg)
3. Kevin Harnett (Meelick)
4. Martin McMahon (captain- Kilmurry Ibrickane)
5. Liam Markham (Cratloe)
6. Gordon Kelly (St Joseph’s, Miltown)
7. John Hayes (Kilrush)
8. Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen)
9. Ciaran Russell (Éire Óg)
10. Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora)
11. Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry Ibrickane)
12. Shane Brennan (Clondegad)
13. Eoin Cleary (St Joseph’s, Miltown)
14. David Tubridy (Doonbeg)
15. Jamie Malone (Corofin)
19. David Egan (Kilmihil) for O’Dea (half-time)

16. Ryan Price (O’Donovan Rossa)
2. Michael Shields (St Finbarrs)
3. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
4. Kevin Crowley (Millstreet)
5. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)
6. James Loughrey (Mallow)
7. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
8. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
9. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues)
10. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
11. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)
12. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
13. Niall Coakley (St Judes)
14. Donncha O’Connor (Ballydesmond)
15. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers) – Captain
18. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough) for O’Connor (inj) (35)
24. Mark Collins (Castlehaven) for O’Driscoll (43)
20. Donal Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa) for Connolly (48)
21. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s) for O’Rourke (50)
26. Kevin Davis (O’Donovan Rossa) for Coakley (60)
17. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg McCarthaigh) for Crowley (64)
Referee: Niall Ward (Westmeath)

Leave a Reply