Indiscipline Costs Minors Against Cratloe

Cratloe 2-16
Newmarket-on-Fergus 2-08
Venue: Pairc Michael Ui Heithir

Cratloe emerged victorious by eight points in this Minor B Hurling championship clash on Friday evening.

It was the perfect start for the hosts as a sideline cut from Riain Considine bounced off the astro turf by the goalmouth and over Newmarket’s full back and goalkeeper. Considine’s county teammate Diarmuid Ryan hit the next two scores to give them a five point advantage with four minutes played.

James McMahon got Newmarket out of the traps with a free won by Tom Nedelec shortly after but his effort was cancelled out by Ryan at the other end. Éanna Crimmins reacted quickly when a McMahon shot was batted in his direction as the corner forward flicked to the back of the net.

Three scores on the trot saw Newmarket take the lead for the first and only time in the contest on the seventeenth minute. However they lost their concentration and critically their discipline as they conceded six points before the sounding of the half-time whistle, four of which were placed balls to lead by five at the break.

While The Blues hit the first score on the resumption, Cratloe took off where they had been before half-time hitting 1-01 in four minutes. To their credit Newmarket led by Jack Enright regrouped as he notched 1-02. The concession of frees hindered their comeback as Cratloe kept their account ticking over with Considine, Ryan and their full forward adding scores to seal the win.

Over the hour, Cratloe were the more consistent side and deserved their win. Diarmuid Ryan, Riain Considine and Enda O’Connor impressed for the winners, their workrate towards the end was visible with Considine drifting back from centre forward to regain possession, he along with Ryan accounted for 1-10 of their final tally.

In what is a very tight championship every point is vital, Newmarket gifted their opponents easy scoreable frees, got cheap yellow cards and on too many occasions gave away the ball when under little or no pressure. This can be remedied and with two games remaining their chances of reaching the knockout stages are still alive, getting there rests entirely in their own hands. Tom Nedelec got through trojan work at centre forward while Darragh Burke and David Frost did well.

Newmarket-on-Fergus: Paudi Guilfoyle; Callum Blake, David Frost, Alan Baker; PJ Enright, Darragh Burke, Oisin Cavanagh; James McMahon (0-04 3f, Eoin Guilfoyle; James Power, Tom Nedelec (0-01), Stephen Casey; Éanna Crimmins (1-00), Jack Enright (1-03), James Barry. Subs: Enda Roche for Barry (32), David O’Dea for Crimmins (59).

Referee: Jarlath Donnellan (Wolfe Tones)

Leave a Reply