Juniors Back In Championship Decider

Newmarket-on-Fergus 1-14
Feakle 2-07
Venue: Dr Daly Park, Tulla

For the second year in succession, Newmarket-on-Fergus will compete in the Junior B championship hurling final.

They made things difficult for themselves on a wet and windy Saturday afternoon but the main thing for them was to get the win.

Playing with the aid of a strong breeze in the opening half, Newmarket’s objective was to build up a strong a lead as possible. That they did with Gearoid McMahon picking up a break from the throw-in and soloing through the middle to slot over the first score of the game which was cancelled out by a Stevie Moloney free.

All members of our full-forward line then got on the scoreboard with a Brian Clancy double and Oisin Pender single while the poacher Rory Murphy struck for Newmarket’s only goal of the game on the third minute.

Further scores from Brian Clancy, Connor Clancy and Eoin Frawley left John Hannon’s side with a nine point advantage at the sounding of the half-time whistle.

Feakle hit the first two points when play recommenced but the Blues replied with James ‘Jellies’ Power and the ever reliable Brian Clancy picking off scores as they tried to weather the storm.

However the concession of two goals in the space of five minutes saw Newmarket’s eight point lead cut to two ensuring a nervy finish. A missed close range free from the East Clare men was of some relief but it took two more Clancy points to seal the deal for the Blues.

Alan O’Flanagan and Brian Clancy were Newmarket’s best. They now await the winner of Tubber vs Inagh/Kilnamona in the final, having lost out to Wolfe Tones twelve months ago the Blues will be determined to set the record straight.

NOF: Brian Tierney; Alan O’Flanagan, Eoin McInerney, PJ Enright; Ronan McCarthy, Pakie McCormack, Gearoid McMahon (0-01); Davy McCormack, Eoin Frawley (0-01); Ger Hannon, Paul McInerney, Connor Clancy (0-01); Oisin Pender (0-01), Brian Clancy (0-09 6f, Rory Murphy (1-00). Subs: James Power (0-01) for Murphy (22), Fergal McInerney for Pender (27), Owen McCarthy for McInerney (60), Liam Harkin for Frawley (62).

Referee: Joe Mullins (Clonlara)

Leave a Reply