Minors Exit In Quarter-Final

Broadford/Smith O’Briens 4-23
Newmarket-on-Fergus 0-13
Venue: Broadford

Broadford/Smith O’Briens advanced to the semi-finals of the Minor B Hurling Championship at the expense of fourteen man Newmarket-on-Fergus on Sunday afternoon.

A sharp start from the hosts paid dividends as they raided for 2-02 inside the opening seven minutes. This allowed to keep Newmarket at arm’s length for the duration of the opening half.

Four points from James ‘Jellies’ Power in eleven minutes settled the Blues who brought the deficit back to five points soon after. Broadford/Smith O’Briens replied with four points on the bounce but Newmarket came back with two points each from Jellies and James McMahon.

However their cause was dealt a massive blow when captain James McMahon was dismissed following an altercation just before the half-time whistle, Broadford/SOB not alone went in with a six point lead at the break but also an extra man.

To have any chance of upsetting the odds, Newmarket needed to come out fighting in the second half. They didn’t as they were held to four points while the South East Clare amalgamation scored 2-14.

Eight different scorers registered for the winners, their shooting was impressive as was the distance from which they got points. Cian Cremins picked up a hat-trick at corner forward and they will be very confident of having a major say in how this championship pans out. Along with Cremins, Niall O’Brien, Darragh Whelan and Eoin Power were best.

Their opponents Newmarket will need to really reflect on this loss. As was the case in their defeat to Clonlara they dropped the heads all too easily. They failed to test the opposing goalkeeper and provided little protection for their one. The hour of hurling was a painful one for Newmarket but if they learn some lessons from it, there may be some merit from a forgettable outing. As has been the case all year, Oisin Cavanagh did well while Jellies Power can also be proud of his display.

Broadford/Smith O’Briens: James Mason; James Hannon, Darragh Whelan, Evan Connolly; Michael Gough, Darren MacNamara, James Vaughan; Eoin Power (1-02), Pauric Donnellan (0-01); Niall Moloney (0-02), Niall O’Brien (0-11 3f 1’65), David Boland; Cian Cremins (3-02), Cian Mulqueen (0-01), JC McMahon (0-02). Sub: 18 (0-01)

Newmarket-on-Fergus: Paudi Guilfoyle; Alan Baker, David Frost, PJ Enright; Jason Duggan, Darragh Burke, Oisin Cavanagh (0-01); Eoin Guilfoyle, Jack Enright; Stephen Casey, Shane Lynch, Tom Nedelec; Peter Power (0-01), James McMahon (0-03), James Power (0-8 6f. Subs: James Barry for Baker (20), John Duggan for Burke (49), David O’Dea for E Guilfoyle (49), Callum Blake for P Power (51), Owen McCoy for J Enright (55).

Referee: Damien Fox (Clooney/Quin)

Leave a Reply