The Boys of 2009 are now Men.

2009? Ah yes, it was just one thing after another that year. Thierry Henry committed the most notorious handball since Maradona. Michael Jackson popped his clogs. There was an outbreak of swine flu and half of Cork city went under water. Our economy, indeed the entire world’s economy, was in freefall. And… Ryan Tubridy took over the Late Late Show. On a brighter note, that was the year we developed our second hurling field. And three of our hurlers starred for Clare in Croke Park that September. But that is another story entirely, because two months earlier we had a batch of twenty lads who also played on that hallowed field. The Under 12s.

Managed by John O’Looney, Davy Guinnane, Shane O’Brien (aka Stoner) and Darren Duggan, this group were invited to a blitz celebrating 125 years since the GAA’s formation. On the day they played games against teams from Cork, Tipp and Kerry, winning two. Naturally they called to McDonald’s on the way home and a fantastic time was had by all.

#      #      #

Nine years later, this is the group that form the backbone of our U21 side. A few lads are no longer hurling, but a majority have kept going all the way to adult level. Theirs is the first hurling championship to be played each year and it’s straight knockout. They are in the A Division along with Clarecastle, Kilmaley, Wolfe Tones, Sixmilebridge, Inagh/Kilnamona, Doora/Barefield, Feakle/Killenana and Bodyke/OCallaghans Mills. They have been drawn to play Sixmilebridge in the quarter final. That game is not yet fixed but will take place in mid March. The very best of luck to ye, men!

2009 U12s

Back – Fionn Crimmins, David McNamara, Cathal Finucane, Cathal Hayes, Darren McNamara, David Gleeson, Jordon Collins, Colin Guilfoyle, Killian Howard, David Griffin.

Front – Kieran O Connor, Dylan Howard, Pa Duggan, Greg Collins, Adam Blake, Lee Devitt,  Liam O Connor, Jack O Connor, Conor McCarthy, Eoin Fitzgerald

Leave a Reply