On a mucky field, 20 years ago

In 1998 our Junior A Hurlers won a League and Championship double. A fine achievement in and of itself, there was a greater significance as it marked the end of a long (and painful!) famine of 17 years in which Newmarket had won no adult championship of any description. Together with the exploits of that year’s minors (of which more later) it heralded better days ahead. Looking through the names and faces, there are a huge number still involved with the club through committees and coaching. There is also at least two, Eoin (Smiley) McInerney and Pakie McCormack, who are still hurling to this very day!

(Back) Fergal Marren, Rory Murphy, Enda Kelly, Kevin Enright, Darragh Naughton, Ray Grogan, Paul Cusack, Liam Ginnane, Kevin Halpin, Fr. John Oakley, Declan Barron, Padraig Crowe, Bob Enright, Mike Clancy, Mike Kilmartin (Middle) Pat Freeman, John Meehan, Tom McNamara, Eoin Mcinerney, Ger Maughan, Tony McCarthy, Cathal Jones, Martin Meehan, Diarmuid O’Leary (Front) Jimmy Clancy, Cathal Kilmartin, Sean Arthur, Pakie McCormack, Aidan Ginnane

Leave a Reply