Best Attended AGM Of Recent History

CLG Cora Chaitlín held its Annual General Meeting on Sunday in the Clubhouse.

In what was the best attended AGM of the millennium and the club’s recent history a wide range of views on how the club can progress came from the floor as members of Newmarket-on-Fergus GAA both young and old, male and female had their say.

Minutes of the 2015 AGM were read out by Secretary Pat Keogh. Subsequent to this he presented his Secretary’s Report where he thanked everyone for their support, gave a rundown of the various team campaigns, praised the volunteers within the club, highlighted the success of the Schools Coaching Programme, offered his respects to bereaved families over the past twelve months and acknowledged the success of Eoin Hayes and Stephen Kelly in lining out for Ireland in the UEFA Regions Cup.

Treasurer Jimmy Clancy outlined the club’s finances. He stressed the importance of fundraising campaigns and touched on areas where the club can improve and alleviate costs across the board.

Páraic McMahon, public relations officer with Newmarket-on-Fergus GAA reported on how the club has continued to build on its social media audiences. He revealed the club’s success in attracting a large following on Clubify while also receiving plenty of hits from all over the world on Tradraí for the second year in succession brought in profit for the club while he congratulated James McInerney on his Poc Fada exploits, Rory McGann on refereeing his first senior hurling final plus Aaron Moroney’s charitable act of wearing a tutu during an U11 hurling game.

Chairperson Freddy McInerney stated in his address that the year “was more of a rollercoaster than a walk in the park”. He said that numbers attending underage sessions were at an all-time high. McInerney acknowledged the exploits of the Junior B Hurlers in collecting a League title while he spoke of his desire for more success to be achieved across the board in 2017. He thanked all sponsors for their backing throughout 2016 and paid tribute to all lotto sellers and volunteers for their efforts. He concluded by appealing for more volunteers to get involved with the club going forward.

Changes were announced to the Club Executive in the election of officers. Pat Keogh, Bob Enright, Siobhán Marren, Derek Clancy and Kevin Enright stepped down from their respective positions. Seanie McMahon, Kenneth Arthur, Diarmuid O’Leary and Damien Hogan have taken up roles with the club for the year ahead. Four motions were passed by all in attendance at the meeting.

Club President Pat Halpin took the floor towards the end of the evening in what he described as “a fine meeting”, he referenced his first AGM decades ago and said he hadn’t seen such a turnout in all his years attending. Diarmuid O’Leary called on everyone to drive on together for the good of the club and asked for individuals interested in getting involved with coaching teams to get in touch.

CLG Cora Chaitlín Club Officers:
Patrons: Canon Reuben Butler & Fr Tom Fitzpatrick
Presidents: Buddy McMahon & Pat Halpin
Chairman: Freddy McInerney
Vice Chairman: Seanie McMahon
Secretary: Concepta O’Connor
Asst Secretary: Kenneth Arthur
Treasurer: Jimmy Clancy
Asst Treasurer: Vacant
PRO: Páraic McMahon
Chairman Bord na nÓg: Diarmuid O’Leary
Secretary Bord na nÓg: Brendan Ryan
Field Maintenance Officer: Cathal Conway
Park Development Officer: Damien Hogan
Co Board Delegate: Pat Corry
Scór: Siobhán Conway
Chairperson Camogie Club: Marie Louise Kaiser
Chairperson Ladies Football Club: Carol O’Leary
Child Protection Officer: Sinead Burke-Keogh

Leave a Reply