Inamona Pile Pressure On Juniors

Inagh/Kilnamona 0-12
Newmarket-on-Fergus 1-06
Venue: Ballyea

Inagh/Kilnamona made it two wins from two in the Junior B Hurling Championship when they had three points to spare over Newmarket-on-Fergus on Sunday afternoon.

Overall Inamona were the sharper team and although they hit an abundance of wides, they were never punished by their opponents who were quite slow to react to the breaking ball.

Two points from Dermot Gannon and a single from Michael McConigley gave the Combo an early advantage. Newmarket took sixteen minutes to register a score with Davy McCormack on target. Gannon extended the gap to three points on twenty minutes but it was brought back to the minimum with successive scores from Brian Clancy.

Paul McInerney helped to create another McCormack white flag which had the sides level for the first time in the game but John Rynne picked up a dropping ball to slot over the final score of the half and give Inamona a one point lead at the break.

Rory Murphy equalised not long into the second half but a quick response followed at the other end. A twelve minute brace saw Inamona outscore Newmarket 5-1 at a stage when the Blues needed to be fighting back.

Inside additional time Brian Clancy was denied by the crossbar from a placed ball but his next attempt from the penalty spot eluded Sean Arthur, it was only a mere consolation effort as the damage was already done.

Dermot Gannon, Michael McConigley and Sean Arthur impressed for the winners while Gearóid McMahon & Ronan McCarthy did well for Newmarket. Inamona are now guaranteed a quarter-final place while it’s do or die for the Blues in their final group game against Parteen.

Inagh/Kilnamona: Sean Arthur; Michael Greene, Alan Mullins, Eoin Devereux; Brian Arthur, Joseph Griffin, Thomas McConigley; Michael McConigley (0-01), Shane Wynne; Joseph Gallagher (0-01), Dermot Gannon (0-08 5f 1’65), Cillian Roughan; John McNamara, John Rynne (0-02), John Corry.

Newmarket-on-Fergus: Owen McCarthy; Ronan McCarthy, John McInerney, Gearóid McMahon; Alan O’Flanagan, Pakie McCormack, Ger Hannon; Davy McCormack (0-02), Eoin Frawley; Oisin Pender, Paul McInerney, Liam Harkin; Niall Garry, Brian Clancy (1-03 1-00f 1’65), Rory Murphy (0-01). Subs: PJ Enright for Harkin (34), Eoin McInerney for McInerney (51), Eoghan McNeill for D McCormack (51).

Referee: Wayne King (St Josephs Doora/Barefield)

Leave a Reply