Minors Qualify For Quarter-Finals

Newmarket-on-Fergus 1-11
Corofin/Ruan 0-10
Venue: Fr Murphy Memorial Park, Newmarket-on-Fergus

A place in the last eight of the Minor B Hurling Championship is the reward for Newmarket-on-Fergus who put in a spirited display against a fancied Corofin/Ruan on Friday evening on home turf.

Their showing in a nineteen point defeat to Clonlara the last day out left a lot to be desired, Newmarket had a point to prove coming into this game and that they certainly did. Lessons with regard to discipline have been learned and they chose not to react when tensions were rising.

Corofin/Ruan built up an early four point advantage inside the first twenty minutes. Wing back, Oisin Cavanagh picked off his first of two points to get Newmarket out of the traps, he would go on to put in an impressive showing over the sixty minutes.

Further scores from James ‘Jellies’ Power x2, Éanna Crimmins and Crimmins put the Blues in front with half-time approaching only for Corofin/Ruan to reply with two white flags to give them a slender one point lead at the break.

With three of the first four scores on the resumption, Newmarket regained the lead and built on it when Shane Lynch rattled the net for the only goal of the game. Both sides slotted over three points each while Colin Haugh was given his marching orders by Fergal Gray for a second bookable offence.

In what was a much improved display from Newmarket, their back line was very impressive with the amount of hooks and blocks indicative of this, Cavanagh was man of the match, his fellow backs were not far behind while Jellies Power hit over a high percentage of placed balls. Their quarter-final is scheduled to take place on Saturday September 30th where it is anticipated Broadford/Smith O’Briens will be their opponents.

NOF: Paudi Guilfoyle; PJ Enright, David Frost, Alan Baker; Jason Duggan, Darragh Burke (0-01), Oisin Cavanagh (0-02); Eoin Guilfoyle, Stephen Casey; Jack Enright (0-02), Tom Nedelec, James Power (0-05 4f 1’65); Éanna Crimmins (0-01, Shane Lynch (1-00), Peter Power. Subs: Callum Blake for J Duggan, Jason Duggan for Blake, John Duggan for P Power.

Referee: Fergal Gray (Feakle)

PIC: Martin Connolly

Leave a Reply