Camogie Division 1 League. NOF vs Truagh

Truagh 1-13
Newmarket on Fergus 3-07
Venue: Newmarket-on-Fergus

Referee: John McDonagh


On a glorious Saturday evening the division 1 league match between Newmarket-on-Fergus and Truagh ended up in a thrilling draw, Newmarket 3-07 to Truagh 1-13.

The home side were first to register a score in the opening seconds with a point from Niki Kaiser. A few minutes later Truaghs Roisin Begley equalised with a point from a free.  For the remainder of the 1st half both sides played a defensive game. With Newmarket goalie Niamh Glesson making some excellent saves while under pressure from the Truagh forwards. And at the other end Truaghs Aine O’Loughlin was superb full back. At half time it finished 0-04 apiece.

The 2nd half saw Newmarket come out the stronger side initially. Niki Kaiser for Newmarket pointing first and after several attacks on the Truagh goalie Sinead Hogg, Sharon McMahon was first to put a goal past her for Newmarket. Newmarket scored 2 more goals but Truagh kept chipping away and notching up a few points until Laura Foley scored a goal which brought them back into the game.

At 1 minute to go it was all square again. Newmarket’s Niki Kaiser launched into a great solo run passing the ball off to team mate Zoe McInerney, who was subsequently fouled, and Niki converted the free putting Newmarket in the lead again. Truagh didn’t give up and in extra time, scored the equalizer for the draw.

Newmarket-On-Fergus; Niamh Glesson; Aoife Griffin, Katie O Flanagan, Aislinn Keogh; Kate Clancy, Carol O’Leary, Amy McInerney; Lorraine Bible, Laura McMahon; Michelle McMahon (0-1), Zoe McInerney, Niki Kaiser (1-06, 3F, 1’45); Brid Enright, Sharon McMahon (1-0), Ann Marie Hayes. Subs: Kira O Flanangan, Jenny Kelly (1-0), Sinead White.

Truagh; Sinead Hogg; Sinead Ryan, Aine O Loughlin, Eileen Glesson; Sarah Sherlock, Michelle Caulfield, Roisin Powell; Hannah Horgan, Ellen Horgan; Louise Egan, Eimear Kelly, Laura Foley; Leah Hawes, Michelle Powell, Rosin Begley. Subs: Kathleen Horgan, Sarah Hastings, Caroline Lynch, Niamh Powell, Rebecca Foley, Roisin Byrnes, Aine Gully, Sadbh Fennessy, Eva Larkin.

Leave a Reply