Countdown to U16 Hurling

7pm on Tuesday July 3rd in Newmarket is when our Under 16 Hurlers begin their championship campaign. In a division with 8 other teams, our lads will play 6 matches in quick succession over the coming weeks. After that, placings will decide which teams progress to quarter-finals, Shields etc. Just like last year, our first opponents are Kilmaley and then we play Eire Og, Clonlara, Ballyea, The Banner and Wolfe Tones.
With a management of Eoghan Ryan, Ken Power, Colm Liddy and Ronan McCormack, this is a group of players with the potential to do well this year. They have been improving through their U14 and U15 campaigns and put in some decent displays in challenge matches over the last few months. An important aspect of the U16 competition however is that the bones of it takes place in July- Holiday Time. It can be expected therefore that on any given matchday, there will be a few regular starters away in Spain or Portugal. Changes to position and personnel will be necessary and we will need a telling contribution from every member of the panel. Best of luck to each and every one.

U16 Squad. Cian Foley, Conor Freeman, Darragh Whelan, David Morrissey, Feidhlim Barry, Harry Frost, JJ Hanton, Luke Mann, Oisin McInerney (Ballycar), Oisin McInerney (Clonmoney), Peter Power, Philip Connellan, Brian Molloy, Conor Meehan, Declan Howard, Dylan Crowe, Hugh O’Grady, Jamie Power, Lochlan Gregson, Mark Delaney, Michael Costelloe, Ronan Tierney, Seadhna Liddy, Shane Quinn, Sol Frost, Adam Enright

Leave a Reply