Wides Prove Costly For Juniors

There was disappointment for our Junior Hurlers on Saturday evening as they picked up a home defeat to O’Callaghans Mills.

O’Callaghans Mills 1-13
Newmarket-on-Fergus 2-08
Venue: Fr Murphy Memorial Park

It was a game in which our Juniors certainly didn’t do themselves justice with some very poor shooting up front and loose play in the middle third being punished by their O’Callaghans Mills counterparts.

Nine minutes into the contest, Newmarket raided for goal with Peter Roche passing to Liam Harkin who doubled to the back of the net, a possible contender for goal of the year from our Juniors.

It wasn’t long until the Mills raised their own green flag as they tore through the Newmarket defence with plenty of runners looking for possession but Conor Henry struck past Brian Tierney who had been called upon several times prior to that.

A quick free from Niall Garry found Oisin Pender who split the posts. Pender added another shortly after with Paul McInerney the provider to cut the gap to two points at the sounding of the half time whistle.

Brian Clancy picked off the first score of the second half in a move that started with a Tierney save and Smiley clearance that Monkey finished off with a score from distance. The Blues drew level when Pender aimed for a point but his shot dropped short and into the back of the net.

Martin Corbett made a contribution from the bench when he hit an excellent score off his right side to level matters once more. The Mills responded with two points on the trot and Rory Murphy had a chance to rattle the net, he was inches away from doing so with his shot racketing off the post to the delight of the East Clare side. A late effort from CPA Rep James McInerney was not enough to give Newmarket a share of the spoils as relegation from Division 5 now a strong possibility.

The Mills could have won this game by a lot more but on the other hand Newmarket will feel that they let two points slip. Mark Pewter & Conor Henry impressed for the visitors while Eoin McInerney, Brian Tierney & Eoghan Ryan led the Newmarket fight.

NOF: Brian Tierney; Eoghan Ryan, Eoin McInerney, Ronan McCarthy; Alan O’Flanagan, Pakie McCormack, Niall Garry; Eoin Frawley, Ger Hannon; Connor Clancy, Paul McInerney, Liam Harkin; Oisin Pender, Peter Roche, Brian Clancy. Subs: Fergal McInerney for Harkin (33), Martin Corbett for Frawley (37), Rory Murphy for Roche (45), James McInerney for Clancy (50).

O’Callaghans Mills: Colm McHugh; Darren Cooney, Ger Frost, Niall McNamara; Brendan Hannon, Jonathan Lyons, Barry Donnellan; Ian Donnellan, Mark Pewter; David O’Donnell, Conor Henry, Dan McNamara; Barry Heffernan, Cathal Lenihan, David McGrath.

Referee: Chris Maguire (Wolfe Tones)

Leave a Reply